Home Piranha Areas Countries New in Shop Special Price Events CDs

Boban i Marko Markovic Orkestar - "Gipsy Manifesto"

Boban i Marko Markovic Orkestar - Gipsy Manifesto
Boban i Marko Markovic Orkestar

Gipsy Manifesto

Balkan / Gypsy / Serbia

release year:

15.00 €




Growing from balkan to world champions, Boban and Marko release their Gipsy Manifesto, a musical call for change and a sonic striving for higher truth, drafted and crafted in the school of life. Ancient melodies that have worked their way down the silk road to the beaches of the Adriatic Sea, played on the instruments of 19th-century Czech Military Bands against the throbbing rhythms that have driven the wild dances of innumerable generations‘ worth of Roma celebrations - this is Balkan Brass Band music. The saturation of multicultural elements that has created this music, though, is far from a completed process. In the hands of Boban and Marko Marković, the evolution is ongoing. These musical visionaries, a virtuosic father and his prodigious son, are active reinterpreters of this hallowed tradition. Their brand of Brass Band music is contemporary and big-city ready, while staying well rooted in the rural traditions that made it. The aesthetic of the band draws ready comparisons to horn-drenched funk music, New Orleans brass band ensembles, and classic Jamaican ska, but the rhythms and the melodies: these are distinctly Balkan. "Covek i Truba" is a snapshot of the current moment in this evolution. The songs are bold and bombastic, and feature the traditional slate of horns and marching drums as well as the new addition of guitar and drumset. The resulting sound is decidedly contemporary, and the album is filled with potential dance-party anthems, from the opening track "Turbo Dizel," a fast-paced piece with a breakneck rhythm and a driving vocal line to the loping, melodic "Fanferica Smekerica" ("Funk Girl"). The title track (in reverse) "Truba i Covek" is a slow, sensual, and jazzy instrumental track, and "Balkan Caravan" has a kicked back Latin-esque rhythm but a decidedly Balkan hook, and the closing track, "Bobanova Saga," brings the album to a slithering, strutting close with hints of improvisation that add another layer of texture to these stunning arrangements. "Having dominated the Balkan brass world in the 20th century, Boban and Marko have now chosen to do no less than redefine the genre. There isn‘t a band on the planet that can touch them." Frank London



No.   Title
1. Caje Sukarije
2. Turbo Dizel
3. Balkan Karavan
4. Bum Tras
5. Disko Dzumbus 2013
6. Cokolada
7. Zivot Cigana
8. Divlji Konj
9. Truba i Covek
10. Gipsy House
11. Zvizduk
12. Od Hana Do Kana
13. Fankerica Smekerica
14. Afrika Paprika
15. Bobanova Saga
16. Sljivovica - [dunkelbunt] Remix (Radio Edit)



Subscribe to our mailing list
......and be always among the first to get news and information about new Piranha Musik releases:

subscribe unsubscribe